Home Page Home Page
 Home | Linux Administration | Corporate Services | Resources | About Us Support Center
Monthly Server Management One-time Server Services Other Services
Network Administration Network Monitoring Network Security High Availability Load Balancing Data Backup and Recovery
Linux HOWTOs Linux Guides Linux Articles New RFCs Vulnerability list Linux Journal
Testimonials Partners Careers Contact Us Site Map
Linux Kernel 2.4 Internals Next Previous Contents

Linux Kernel 2.4 Internals

Tigran Aivazian tigran@veritas.com

7 August 2002 (29 Av 6001)


Introduction to the Linux 2.4 kernel. The latest copy of this document can be always downloaded from: http://www.moses.uklinux.net/patches/lki.sgml This guide is now part of the Linux Documentation Project and can also be downloaded in various formats from: http://www.linuxdoc.org/guides.html or can be read online (latest version) at: http://www.moses.uklinux.net/patches/lki.html This documentation is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or (at your option) any later version. The author is working as senior Linux kernel engineer at VERITAS Software Ltd and wrote this book for the purpose of supporting the short training course/lectures he gave on this subject, internally at VERITAS. Thanks to Juan J. Quintela (quintela@fi.udc.es), Francis Galiegue (fg@mandrakesoft.com), Hakjun Mun (juniorm@orgio.net), Matt Kraai (kraai@alumni.carnegiemellon.edu), Nicholas Dronen (ndronen@frii.com), Samuel S Chessman (chessman@tux.org), Nadeem Hasan (nhasan@nadmm.com), Michael Svetlik (m.svetlik@ssi-schaefer-peem.com) for various corrections and suggestions. The Linux Page Cache chapter was written by: Christoph Hellwig (hch@caldera.de). The IPC Mechanisms chapter was written by: Russell Weight (weightr@us.ibm.com) and Mingming Cao (mcao@us.ibm.com)

1. Booting

2. Process and Interrupt Management

3. Virtual Filesystem (VFS)

4. Linux Page Cache

5. IPC mechanisms


Next Previous Contents